21-Jul, 17:36

23:27, November 30 154 0

2016-11-30 23:27:20
More, More, More: That’s How They Like It

“Anything goes!” Gia Ghezzi, a fashion consultant who was until recently the fashion director of Intermix, said of the many ways to wear sparkle and shine this holiday season. “If you feel comfortable in your own skin, now is the moment to have fun and play with it.”

There’s a lot to play with. Lurex, leopard, lamé, velvet, sequins and lace abound, in party frocks and even sportswear pieces like polo shirts, turtlenecks and bomber jackets. If they’re embroidered with dogs, cats, flowers and snakes, so much the better.

The look is not without risk. “If you try to wear it all at once, you could look like you’re on the fast train to crazy town,” said Annie Georgia Greenberg, the fashion director at large of Refinery29. So how do you break out of the gray flannel doldrums without appearing fit for “Grey Gardens”?

One way is to make it all about a statement piece. Now is the time to buy one of those conversation starters that won’t be around in another season. “You’re not running out and buying a black blazer,” Ms. Ghezzi said. “You want a rich velvet one with embellishment on it. And you’re going to find 10 different ways to wear it. It will have longevity because it will make you so happy when you open your closet.”

After all, fashion for the holidays is an emotional enterprise. “Putting on something bright and shiny is a mood lifter,” Ms. Greenberg said. “If you’re wearing a daring outfit, it can help you to feel more daring.”

If you’re a novice wandering down the garden path laid by designers like Alessandro Michele of Gucci, and you’re thinking of layering luxe textures and eccentric detail into one glorious mash-up, take it slow. “New pieces, they’re like new lovers,” said Mia Moretti, the D.J. and downtown darling. “You’re still getting to know them. You don’t know how long they’re going to last, how warm they’re going to keep you, or if you can dance in that shoe.”

If you’re not ready for a full-on embrace, stick to monochromatic pieces. If you’re going with something sparkly on top, don’t go blingy on the bottom. “We can’t all work it like Gucci,” Ms. Ghezzi said, “although that would be amazing.”

At top, left: Mara Hoffman cropped metallic sweater, $222.60 (on sale) at marahoffman.com; Stella McCartney Lurex skirt, $2,035 at stellamccartney.com; Lizzie Fortunato rope tassel belt, $345 at Fivestory, fivestory.com; Proenza Schouler woven heeled mules, $595 at Proenza Schouler.

Right: 3.1 Phillip Lim knit polo, $425 at 3.1 Phillip Lim, 31philliplim.com; La Ligne striped silk charmeuse pants, $325 at lalignenyc.com; Bill Blass hand-beaded slip-ons, $388 at billblass.com.

Alexander Wang leopard-print rabbit fur coat, $4,995 at Alexander Wang; Reformation metallic knit dress, $104 (on sale) at thereformation.com; Stuart Weitzman stretch velvet boots, $725 at stuartweitzman.com; Anna Sui silk headband, $59 at Anna Sui Downtown; Lizzie Fortunato embroidered leather clutch, $505 at lizziefortunato.com.

Missoni metallic knit minidress, $1,825 at barneys.com; Alexander Wang wool-cashmere endless scarf, $325 at Alexander Wang; LD Tuttle over-the-knee boots, $995 at ldtuttle.com.

Tibi cashmere pleated-sleeve sweater, $595 at tibi.com; the Kooples velvet blazer, $645 at the Kooples, thekooples.com; Gabriella Hearst tiered cotton lace skirt, $1,995 at gabrielahearst.com; Kenzo tiger pumps, $623 (on sale) at kenzo.com; Lulu Frost antique crystal braided snake chain choker, $1,333, and vintage necklace, $815, at lulufrost.com; Lee Savage brass clutch, $1,295 at leesavage.us.com.

Left: Maje leopard-print rabbit fur coat, $1,495 at Maje, maje.com; 3.1 Phillip Lim iridescent sequin silk shell, $595 at 31philliplim.com; Tome charmeuse bow-front skirt, $995 at tomenyc.com; Laurence Dacade buckle sandals, $697 (on sale) at luisaviaroma.com; Cinq à Sept pearl-beaded silk scarf, $195 at Bergdorf Goodman, bergdorfgoodman.com; Blake Kuwahara glasses, $599 at Studio Optix; Lulu Frost jet star necklace, $488 at lulufrost.com.

Right: 3x1 embroidered satin bomber, $655 at 3x1.us; Alexander Wang cropped T-shirt, $215 at Alexander Wang, alexanderwang.com; Ulla Johnson velvet overalls, $390 at ullajohnson.com; J. Crew glitter sandals, $278 at jcrew.com; Anna Sui skinny scarf, $99 at Anna Sui Downtown; Lee Savage brass and leather clutch, $1,595 at leesavage.us.com.

Missoni metallic fringe jacket, $2,550 at intermixonline.com; Mara Hoffman blouse, $154.80 (on sale) at marahoffman.com; Moussy jeans, $290 at Moussy; Casadei high-heel loafers, $627 (on sale) at casadei.com; Proenza Schouler metallic ombré clutch, $950 at Proenza Schouler.

In background: Opening Ceremony faux fur reversible coat, $695 at openingceremony.com; Anya Hindmarch metallic leather bag, $1,995 at Anya Hindmarch; Anna Sui silk mesh minidress, $500 at net-a-porter.com.

Right: Gucci wool crew neck, $3,000 at Gucci. Kaelen silk lamé pleated skirt, $1,260 at kaelennyc.com; Lizzie Fortunato leather and silk tassel belt, $415 at lizziefortunato.com; Sophie Hulme glitter bag (on table), $1,295 at solpiehulme.com.

Center: Kenzo tiger stripe dress, $861 (on sale) at kenzo.com; Nicholas Kirkwood pearl-heel boots, $1,895 at net-a-porter.com; Leith Clark x Warby Parker glasses, Leith x Warby Parker glasses, $145 at Warby Parker, warbyparker.com.

Left: Opening Ceremony flocked velvet mesh glitter dress, $595 at openingceremony.com; Sandro embroidered sweatshirt, $295 at Sandro Spring Street; Lulu Frost velvet and vintage rhinestone choker, $305 at lulufrost.com.